Yesterday morning, Michigan Governor Jennifer Granholm conducted a ceremonial signing of the Kids in Cars law. The law has been in effect in Michigan since April 1, 2009. The law makes it illegal for children under the age of 6 to remain unattended in a car.
Just last week, a 38-year old Brighton woman was charged under the new law. Police responded to a call from Best Buy workers who noticed that the woman was buying around $500 worth of DVD’s and computer equipment with a fraudulent credit card. When the police escorted the woman to her car, they noticed her 6-month-old son, who was left in the car for over an hour.
The law charges violators with a misdemeanor, punishable for up to 93 days in jail and a $500 fine. While forgotten baby syndrome can happen to anyone, hopefully the imposition of fines and jail time will make parents think twice before leaving a child behind.
recently named in the 2009 edition of Best Lawyer's In America, David Mittleman has been representing seriously injured people since 1985. A partner with Church Wyble PC—a division of Grewal Law PLLC—Mr. Mittleman and his partners focus on medical malpractice, wrongful death, car accidents, slip and falls, nursing home injury, pharmacy/pharmacist negligence and disability claims.